Things Kids Say

Yes, But No

I teach a slightly delinquent group of 15-year-olds that for some reason really like me and take joy in telling me all the naughty things they do and seeing the look of horror on my face. But this time, I couldn’t help but laugh.

We were playing a game of Catch Phrase: a student has to describe a secret word so that the other students guess the word.

Student 1: When you feel bad, you…

Student 2: DRINK!

I laughed so hard that I cried. Student 1 attempted to say, “When you feel bad, you are…” to have her classmates guess “sick.”

Then…

Student 2: This is something we cannot live without.

Student 1: MOBILE PHONE!

Student 3: BOYS!

Student 1: SEX! Courtney, I’m sorry!

The answer was music. At least Student 1 had a little bit of shame. And the funny thing is that these kids are my favorite, even though they drive me mental!

Leave a Reply

